About my summer adventure… I’m spending the month of June and July living on a sailboat with the Captain. (For those of you who are properly horrified to hear me refer to my boyfriend as the Captain, it’s important to note that he refers to me as the Admiral.)

The Captain (also known as Captain Gladiator or Captain Crankypants, depending on his mood and mine) has been living on the boat since October and chronicling his adventures here. I’ve spent a little bit of time on the boat with him (two weeks in January and one week in March), and I’m pretty excited to move on to the boat with him for a couple of months. In part because I haven’t seen very much of him recently, and I’m looking forward to some quality time. But more and more, I’m getting excited about the boat trip itself, learning how to sail and having a mostly carefree time.

I’ll have some materials I need to prep my fall classes, and I have some research work that I’ll do on board. Outside of that, our only agenda is to sail north to meet friends for the Best Vacation Ever in Martha’s Vineyard at the end of June, and then we’ll probably stop a couple other places up there before a nice sail back.

I expect I’ll have (and will write about) a lot of challenges, too. (Strangely enough, the one thing I’ll rarely have to go without on the boat is internet. If only we could get pipeless hot water as easily as one can get wireless internet.)

In a move I can only interpret as preparation for the summer, my TV died yesterday. And there’s no way I’m replacing it now, just before I put all my things in storage for the summer. I really need to get the carcass out of my living room, as my eyes keep wandering over to it, hoping for some sort of resurrection.