I’m feeling pretty self-satisfied this weekend, mostly because I did three things:

1. I mowed the lawn. For the first time ever. I haven’t had a lawn since I lived with my parents, and luckily I also had a brother, and that’s what brothers do. But in this new place, without Scott here yet, I managed to figure it out. Yay me. (Very lucky for me, the lawnmower that the landlord provided has an electric starter, because I already know I can’t pull start an engine to save my life.)

2. I innovated. I like to make my coffee at home in the morning and bring it to work with me. Now that I’m biking to the office, I wasn’t sure what to do. I can’t hold my travel mug. I tried to get up earlier and have my coffee at home but then I got to work and wanted to drink coffee while I was checking email. (There is a coffee maker, but I’m a coffee snob and like to drink my own brew.) So, instead, I fashioned my own cup holder for the basket of my bike. I knew I needed to keep the cup upright, and I figure some sort of shock absorption would be good. So I carved a big divot in a sponge and rigged a couple of bungee cords to do this:
(top view)

(side view)

I’ll see how it works on Monday!

3. Baking. Kathy and Vance are having some people over tonight for their Grizzly marathon. They’re showing Grizzly Man and The Grizzly Project. Grizzly Man is legendary with them. When they went to see it in the theater without knowing much about it, Vance thought it was a mock-umentary, and laughed his way through it. Anyway, we are having bear-themed food, and I decided to make Cub-cakes.

Get it?

Cub-cakes.

It’s a yellow cake cupcake, with strawberry buttercream frosting, chopped up trail mix, and a Teddy Graham.